Kattelmann named chair-elect of the Nutrition and Dietetic Educators and Preceptors

South Dakota State University Distinguished Professor Kendra Kattelmann has been named chair-elect of the Nutrition and Dietetic Educators and Preceptors. She will start as the organization’s chair-elect in June. She will move to chair in June 2019 and then become past chair in June 2020.

NDEP consists of more than 1,350 educator and preceptor members with a decision-making body composed of 13 elected members and four appointed members. NDEP’s mission is to advocate for and empower educators to lead the profession of nutrition and dietetics. As a result of its mission, the goals of NDEP are to:

  • recognize educators and preceptors as leaders of the profession;
  • support and advance nutrition and dietetic education programs; and
  • support the purposes and goals of The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

 “We are the voice of educators to the dietetics profession,” said Kattelmann, who is the head of SDSU’s Department of Health and Nutritional Sciences. The Accreditation Council for the Education of Nutrition and Dietetics has accredited SDSU’s undergraduate dietetics and dietetic internship program.

Kattelmann was the NDEP delegate to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics’ House of Delegates from 2015-18. A Fellow of The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, she is also a site reviewer for ACEND and served as the examination panel chair for the Commission on Dietetic Registration.


About South Dakota State University
Founded in 1881, South Dakota State University is the state’s Morrill Act land-grant institution as well as its largest, most comprehensive school of higher education. SDSU confers degrees from six different colleges representing more than 200 majors, minors and specializations. The institution also offers 36 master’s degree programs, 15 Ph.D. and two professional programs.

The work of the university is carried out on a residential campus in Brookings, at sites in Sioux Falls, Pierre and Rapid City, and through Extension offices and Agricultural Experiment Station research sites across the state.